Beets

Posted: March 8, 2013 in Recipes
Tags: , , , , , ,

While on my first run of Guest Chef a dear friend of my Angela went on about how much she loved beets and the way I utilized every piece of them.  A little back story, I hated beets for years because I was used to the way my grandmother would make them, pickled with black pepper and a side of sour cream.  Being a child the flavors were overwhelming, sour, earthy, tangy.  Years later my palate has refined and softened to those strong flavors.

Back to my original point, Angela asked me how I achieved tender beets without having them fall apart.  So Angela here it is, this is how I cook my beets every time with a change in flavoring here and there.

  • 12 beets roughly the size of a baseball, washed
  • 3 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 sprig of fresh thyme
  • handful of kosher salt
  • 2 tablespoons freshly ground black pepper
  • 2 tablespoons red wine vinegar
  • Juice and zest of 1 large orange
  • enough water to cover the beets
Preheat your oven to 400, while oven is heating up toast pepper corns in a pan, right when you begin to smell the pepper pull off the heat.   Now take all the ingredients and place them in a dutch oven, pyrex or other vessel oven safe.  Pour enough water to just cover the beets, cover container and cook for 45 min then check to see if they are fork tender.   Once they are tender remove from oven and place in cold water, while still warm peel the skin off the beets under running water.
After they are done you can either eat them warm or cool them for a salad.
 

 

in this rendition of beets I’ve taken baby chioggas and large reds.  I paired them with braised beet greens, olive oil, black garlic mole, poached quail egg and toasted almonds.
 
I hope this helps you out and you begin experimenting with beets soon.
Comments
  1. Jenn K says:

    I always love how you prepare beets!

Leave a Reply

